FacebookYoutube
Beads and Yarn
Line
      
      

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Monday, May 15, 2017 - Monday, July 10, 2017
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM


(place mouse over image for larger view)

Cost: $625.00

Join us for this 8 week course in the basics of jewelry fabrication: from bezels to soldering and beyond! Practicing weekly is a great way to build skills that will last. Class meets once a week for 8 weeks. Open Studios are available for more practice time outside of class. 

This class focuses on the basics of creating jewelry: sawing, filing, sanding, texturing, soldering, stamping, polishing, and stone setting. Students will make sample projects including a pendant, ring, prong setting with a bail, and a chain bracelet.

Techniques covered include:

• Stone setting: bezels
• Sawing
• Filing
• Sanding
• Soldering
• Sweat soldering
• How to make a ring
• Stamping
• Hammering and texture
• Polishing with power tools
• Fabricating a prong setting
• Making a bail for pendant
• Making a custom chain and soldering links
• Twisting metal
• Forging
• Fusing
• Metals used for projects included sterling, argentium, copper and brass

Kit of materials, full color handout and use of tools included.

If this class is sold out, please email us to be added to the waitlist. 

Class policies for refunds, transfers and cancelations.


 

Prerequisites:

Open to all levels - beginners welcome! 

Location: Silvera Jewelry School, Berkeley CA

Instructors: Anat Silvera or Joe Silvera

Upcoming Workshop Dates
Date(s) Times
Mon. Jan 22, Mon. Jan 29, Mon. Feb 5, Mon. Feb 12, Mon. Feb 26, Mon. Mar 5, Mon. Mar 12, Mon. Mar 191PM-4PM

Sold Out

Mon. Apr 2, Mon. Apr 9, Mon. Apr 16, Mon. Apr 23, Mon. Apr 30, Mon. May 7, Mon. May 14, Mon. May 216:30PM-9:30PM

Register

Thu. Apr 5, Thu. Apr 12, Thu. Apr 19, Thu. Apr 26, Thu. May 3, Thu. May 10, Thu. May 17, Thu. May 2410AM-1PM

Register

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Click on image for larger view